Stormzy, Jorja Smith & More Nominated for 2021 GRM Daily Rated Awards – Billboard

Stormzy, Jorja Smith and more have been nominated at the 6th annual GRM Daily Rated Awards in the U.K. on September 16. Voting is now open.
By Mia Nazareno
Grime icon Stormzy, rapper slowthai, R&B singer Jorja Smith and more have been nominated at the sixth annual GRM Daily Rated Awards in the U.K. The event — which honors the best in Britain’s rap and grime scene — will be livestreamed Sept. 16 at 7 p.m. BST via GRM’s YouTube channel.


See latest videos, charts and news

See latest videos, charts and news

See latest videos, charts and news
See latest videos, charts and news
Nominations were announced Wednesday (July 21) in the U.K., with such artists as AJ Tracey, Headie One and Little Simz, leading the way with multiple nods. Presented by the U.K. rap and grime culture outlet GRM Daily, the awards show is designed to recognize the best of British talent in the genre between June 1, 2020, and June 1, 2021.

Even though the U.K. has recently lifted its live show restrictions amid COVID-19, the sixth annual Rated Awards will remain virtual for the second year in a row.

Last year’s virtual ceremony was hosted by comedian Mo Gilligan and radio host Julie Adenuga. Among last year’s winners were J Hus’ Big Conspiracy for album of the year, Dutchavelli for breakthrough of the year, and D-Block Europe for male artist of the year. Other highlights from last year’s show include performances by George the Poet, Dizzee Rascal and Kano.  
Fans can vote for their favorite artists here until Aug. 17. Performances for this year’s show will be announced in the coming weeks.  
See below for the list of nominees. 
Album of the year:
AJ Tracey, Flu Game
Bugzy Malone, The Resurrection
D Block Europe, The Blueprint- Us Vs. Them
Fredo, Money Can’t Buy Happiness
Ghetts, Conflict of Interest
Headie One, EDNA
K Trap, Street Side Effects
Loski, Music, Trial and Trauma: A Drill Story
Nines, Crabs In A Bucket
slowthai, TYRON 
Female artist of the year:
Bree Runway 
Ivorian Doll
Jorja Smith
Lady Leshurr
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don
Midas The Jagaban 
Male artist of the year:
AJ Tracey
Abra Cadabra
Central Cee
Digga D
Headie One
Potter Payper
Tion Wayne 
Breakthrough of the year:
BackRoad Gee
Central Cee
French The Kid
Pa Salieu
Personality of the year:
Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Nella Rose
Michael Dapaah
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Niko Omilana
Yung Filly
ZeZe Mills 
Track of the year:
A1 & J1, “Latest Trends”
Abra Cadabra, “On Deck”
Central Cee, “Loading”
Digga D, “Woi”
ENNY, “Peng Black Girls” (ft Amia Brave)
Headie One, Stormzy and AJ Tracey, “Ain’t It Different”
Nines, “Airplane Mode” (ft NSG)
Pa Salieu, “My Family” (ft BackRoad Gee)
Potter Payper, “Purpose”
Russ & Tion Wayne, “Body” 

Video of the year:
Aitch, “Safe To Say” (Directed by KC Locke)
AJ Tracey, “Little More Love” (Directed by KC Locke)
Ghetts, “Skengman Mode” (ft. Stormzy) (Directed by Nathan James Tettey)
Headie One, “Princess Cuts” (ft. Young T & Bugsey) (Directed by Capone)
Little Simz,  “Introvert” (Directed by Salomon Ligthelm)
Meekz, “Respect The Come Up” (Directed by KC Locke)
Nines, “Clout” (Directed by Charlie Di Placido)
Pa Salieu, “My Family” (ft. BackRoad Gee) (Directed by Femi Ladi)
Russ & Tion Wayne, “Body” (Directed by Wowa) 
slowthai, Skepta, “Cancelled” (Directed by THE REST)
Mixtape of the year:
Abra Cadabra, Product of My Environment
Central Cee, Wild West
Chip, Snakes and Ladders
Digga D, Made In The Pyrex
Giggs, Now Or Never
M Huncho & Nafe Smallz, DNA
NSG, Roots
Pa Salieu, Send Them To Coventry
Potter Payper, Training Day 3
Unknown T, Rise Above Hate 
Radio DJ of the year:
Charlie Sloth
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Kenny Allstar
Robert Bruce
Reece Parkinson
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie 
Producer of the year:
5ive Beatz
Chris Rich
Get weekly rundowns straight to your inbox
A daily briefing on what matters in the music industry
Send us a tip using our anonymous form.
A daily briefing on what matters in the music industry
Send us a tip using our anonymous form.
Billboard is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2022 Billboard Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.